Microblog

This is typography and web design practice to see if I can come up with a nice no frills design for a microblog. Not sure how much I'm going to use it. One liners and sketches go here.


THIS ISN'T PARTICULARLY CHRONOLOGICAL, BUT THE NEWER ONES ARE CLOSER TO THE TOP.

Miniature


Best wishes, 3.6.2021

I still hold to the assumption that only 10 people have read anything on this website.


The rest must be some form of non-human entity, 19 Mar 2024

The best way to honour the passing of Akira Toriyama is to collect all the dragonballs and wish him back to life.


But only after he learns Kiao-ken and the Spirit bomb, 8 Mar 2024

This website is really in need of a shake up. But unfortunately so many other hobbies are taking priority.


It's always a time problem isn't it? 3 Dec 2023

I just found some old 90's website design manuals.


Time to start using tables for layouts! 9 Aug 2023

I'm not a vegan, I actually like eating meat. But that doesn't stop me from occasionally empathising with my meal.


Pity is not going stop me, 29 July 2023

Recently I read a comment and thought to myself, "This is so stupid that I'm sure you're not an AI."


I save all my good lines for this place, 29 July 2023

♥ ∞

The bad news is that last month this microblogging platform had 0 Monthly Active Users (MAU). The good news is that I achieved NaN% growth in users this month.


For this I will reward myself with infinite likes, 9 July 2023

I had dream that there was a wall of gachapon machines in my bedroom, it even had a premium Honda Super Cub one.


There's no point in interpreting this, May 27 2023

Making websites is a craft project. We're just our generation's version of a bunch of old ladies getting together to make quilts.


Sure Grandma, let's get you to bed, 13 May 2023

Wow, it's #Mermay! That means that I'll finish drawing a mermaid some time in November.


Even then I'm not sure if I ever will, 1 May 2023

BUT THEY WIND UP WOUNDED BUT NOT EVEN DEAD... TONIGHT, IN JUNGLELAND...

I have just discovered that Zoids Wild, 30 Minutes Missions, Neko Busou and Ikimono Encyclopedia Mini Collection: Ancient Fish are all compatible thanks to 3mm ports.


Something horrifying is going to result from this knowledge, 19 Apr 2023

I found a new horrifying genre of videos on Youtube: Indonesians/Malaysians pulling apart car batteries to extract lead for their fishing hobby without any concern for their own safety.


It's an OSHA nightmare, 19 Apr 2023

This website is 2 years old (?)(!)(?).


I can't believe this shitpost has been going on for so long, 11 Apr 2023

I feel like I should print out physical copies of my blog posts so I have stuff to practice book binding.


I can only make so many sketchbooks, 6 Feb 2023

Starlight is made of photons that travelled for million years, falling into your eyes.


I want to look at more stars, 29 Dec 2022

I reread all my blog posts from this year. It certainly has been a year...


Next year will be worse, won't it?, 28 Dec 2022

A REMINDER THAT THE RANDOM EMPTY SPACES ARE PART OF THE DESIGN

All this while and I still can't conjure up an accurate 3-dimensional head from my imagination, at least I know where I'm lacking.


Why do I put myself through this trouble?, 14 Dec 2022

My current art project is to try to capture "Stock photo energy".


This is what I do with my free time, 12 Dec 2022

Children's heads are tougher than you expect, but not used as often as you would like.


Speaking from experience, 7 Dec 2022

My photography section is a weird time capsule of the pandemic and lockdown.


I should reformat it as such, 6 Dec 2022

I voted in an election for the first time in my life.


I'm sure that the outcome will be the worst outcome, 19 Nov 2022

Being in Covid quarantine alone feels a lot like LARPing Kafka's 'Metamorphosis'.


It's not as bad as I expected, 16 Nov 2022

I love side scrolling websites. I wonder why they aren't the norm.


They are just classy, 15 XI 2022

I'm trying out Mastodon, but all the quality microblogging goes here.


Toot, 14.11.2022

I saw the dreaded double bars. Down with Covid.


It finally got me, 11 Nov 2022

The new goal of this microblog is to outlast Twitter.


In spite it all, doing well, 10 Nov 2022

JUDGING BY THE HOLE IN THE SATELLITE PICTURE

I unironically like Smash Mouth's "All Stars".


Nostalgia is a hell of a drug, 10 xi 2022

On the other side of your dreams, lie only nightmares.


I wish I didn't know this, 8 xi 2022

Interacting with kids these days feel like someone just opened a 100 youtube tabs at the same time at full volume.


Children sound weird, 3.11.2022

Another Inktober completed. I'll probably only scan it and put it up after December.


There is always a time lag, 31.10.2022

I can't help but feel like I was a much more interesting person during the lockdown.


But I don't want another one, 28 ix 2022

It's amazing how many ideas I can come up with when I'm stuck in a lecture hall.


Too bad I can't stand lectures anymore, 10 September 2022

Scientifically, there is no such thing as a 'fish' or everything with a backbone is a fish. I subscribe to the latter view.


Your bipedal fish friend, 19 August 2022

Everbody I know has a mental illness. Why do people think that having one makes them special?


You are not special, 2 August 2022

Why does Starfish Hitler exist, but not Brittlestar Churchill?


This keeps me up at night, 24 July 2022

I've had a few false starts for blog posts, but I got distracted by cool visual ideas and started drawing instead.


Doing well, 22.vii.2022

I just read some medieval Arabic poems, one by a wife about how she hates her husband, the other by a man that was consoling his friend about a fart. Imagine if that was the only proof of your existence...


Maybe it's better to not be remembered, 12.vii.2022

I had something to say about the abortion debate, but I realised that my take doesn't add anything at all and that there are better, more informed opinions.


Wisdom is knowing when you are a fool, 7 July 2022

That late night Maggi goreng that I ate tasted so sinful, like it was seasoned with the Tree of Knowledge.


In atonement, 2 July 2022

I had a dream where I was using a mechanical keyboard. That's all I remember of it.


What does it mean?, 8 June 2022

Lost things are always at the last place that you think of looking, because you stop looking as soon as you find it.


I don't like losing things, 4 June 2022

I'm tempted to become a NEET, but then I realise for working adults that's just looking forward to retirement.


We're almost halfway through the year, 3 June 2022

Failure is not an option. It's part of the basic package.


Happy belated Wesak day, 17 May 2022

Children are the purest expressions of the human condition. That's why they are insufferable twats.


My patience is running thin, 13 May 2022

It is the job of philosophers to take ideas that are simple and good, and make them frustratingly opaque.


Surely they can write better, 7 May 2022

I just finished colouring in a comic. It's not something I want to do again anytime soon.


Progress has been made, 7 May 2022

The cream rises but shit also floats.


An attempt, 6 May 2022

I promise to stop trying to be deep and start writing about more frivolous topics soon.


All the best, 6 May 2022

Anyway, my dearest one,
we still have the moon.

---Margaret Atwood;
Owl and pussycat, 
some years later.

I spent the whole day thinking that there was something wrong with my telephoto lens. Turns out I forgot to turn off the 5m-∞ switch.


Stupidly giving myself nagging anxiety, 26 Apr 2022

I found a whole bunch of junk parts at my local model shop. Kitbashing is fun.


Taking a mental health break, 20 Apr 2022

WILL YOU LOVE ME TOMORROW?

This site turns one year old tomorrow.


Time sure flies, 10 Apr 2022

Making comics is hard. Like really hard.


It needs to be said again, 10 Apr 2022

When I was a teenager I expected life to be like the Lord of the Rings movies, with sweeping soundtracks and fast paced action. It turned out more like the book, with long commutes, endless meetings and random encounters with Tom Bombadil.


Hey dol! Merry dol! Ring a dong dillo!, 10 Apr 2022

Making comics is hard. Like really hard.


It needs to be said more, 9 Apr 2022

I just realised that my blog is full of random topics. Perhaps this is a result of just pursuing what I like and not curating a brand.


Selamat bulan puasa, 5 Apr 2022

I wonder if I'm too nostalgic. Maybe I should start looking towards the possibilities of the future instead of thinking about the lost past.


Ramadan kareem, 5 Apr 2022

TURN A TURN TURN A TURN TURN AAAAAAAAAAA

I once had vegan Asam laksa. It tasted like lukewarm Limau panas with noodles and tofu in it.


This is about as vernacular as it gets here, 26 Mar 2022

There is a strange lack of cat videos on Neocities. Perhaps this is a barometer on whether something is niche or mainstream.


See you later, 18 Mar 2022

DO YOU REMEMBER, THAT OLD LULLABY?

I have no nostalgia for blinkies. Even though I am in the right age range and I was on the internet during their peak, I never liked them. I am very easily distracted and they were always so visually distracting.


Have a great day, 14 Mar 2022

"My website is a shifting Vietnamese War era communist tunnel complex next to the river of knowledge"


What is yours? 14 Mar 2022

Or going even further, it's a block of wood with a rectangular hole in it.


More late night genius ideas, 14 Mar 2022

The ultimate minimalist camera is one that doesn't even take photos. Maybe it's just a lens and you record the image into your memory.


Late night genius ideas, 14 Mar 2022

I feel a strange sense of achievement now that I've uploaded some comics online.


All the best, 13 Mar 2022

That feel when you've solved a CSS problem that has been bugging you for a while.


Solving problems, 11 Mar 2022

I need to get around to scanning in and uploading all the art that I've made.


Busy as always, 9 Mar 2022

I'd really like to eat an idli with some nice dhal.


A bit hungry, 3 Mar 2022

Sometimes it's good to step back from a piece of writing and ask yourself if it is better as a sentence.


Yes, 21 Feb 2022

AS MUCH AS I LIKE MELANCHOLY AND BEING ALONE, I LIKE GOOD NATURED GUYS

Crepuscular drive - 1. A need to go out at dawn or dusk. 2. Driving a vehicle at dawn or dusk.


I'm just making up terms now, 19 Feb 2022

All elementary or primary schoolers are now born after 2010. Damn.


All is well, 10 Feb 2022

A game I used to play in Wikipedia was to get from one random page to another by only navigating the links.


Things that bored kids do, 6 Feb 2022

SUPER -MUNDANE HAPPINESS

Family reunions are exhausting. At least this pandemic makes them rare events.


Tired, 2 Feb 2022

Ultrabots. I finally found the name of a game that was vague memory to me.


Stuck in the sands of time, 15 Jan 2022

"The Lazy Song" was released more than a decade ago? Why does it still register as a new song in my head?


Today I don't feel like doing anything, 9 Jan 2022

I had a minor panic when my computer went to sleep and couldn't wake up.


The perils of using Linux, 7 Jan 2022

I somehow stumbled into Project Gemini and it's been a fun time exploring it.


We have liftoff, 30 Dec 2021

The emergency is over, but the crisis continues.


Respectfully yours, 29 Dec 2021

Finally I've uploaded all my inktober stuff. This is why I'm terrible at posting these kinds of things on social media.


Post-boxing day, 27 Dec 2021

I was relieved that 2019 was over, and 2020 was worse. I was relieved that 2020 was over, and 2021 was worse. I'm relieved that 2021 is almost over...


Hey, it's already Christmas, 25 Dec 2021

IF THERE WAS A HELL, I'M SURE THIS IS HOW IT SMELLS

I made the mistake of watching the live action Cowboy Bebop.


See you space cowboy, 16 Dec 2021

Good news is bad news that hasn't arrived yet.


The opposite is also true, 29 Nov 2021

I like reading propaganda from China, it's so pleasantly optimistic since bad news isn't allowed.


Happy Thanksgivings (I have no idea when thanksgivings is), 26 Nov 2021

I was sitting with a bunch of friends and they were reminiscing about their old embarassing blogs. I nervously hid the fact that I'm still blogging in 2021.


Secrets that I will take to the grave, 24 Nov 2021

It's almost the end of November and I haven't finished uploading all my inktober stuff yet...


Behind schedule, 21 Nov 2021

Almost the whole day spent inking and I only have 12 pages done.


Longer than expected, 3 Nov 2021

Gulai Kambing Jawa tastes amazing.


Among other things, 2 Nov 2021

That's the end of this year's inktober. I need to catch up with my scanning and posting, but at least it's done.


On to other things, 31 Oct 2021

I've finally started using RSS. It definitely helps with my reading.


A bit distracted, 25 Oct 2021

I'm such a boring person that this website is one of my most shameful secrets.


Doing well, 22 Oct 2021

The Entry Grade Gundam is a really fun kit to build. Good color separation and some really great engineering.


Pleasantly surprised, 11 Oct 2021

A couple more weeks of clearing through work, then I can actually spend some time on passion projects. I have a backlog of stuff that needs to be uploaded.


Clearing the stack, 23 Sept 2021

Mooncake season is here again. I've been eating a lot of red bean ones, but I haven't had a lotus paste one yet.


Still thinking about food, 18 Sept 2021

Tibetan Momos are delicious dumplings. I'd like to try them again sometime in the future.


Kind thoughts, 15 Sept 2021

THIS TOO SHALL PASS...

When I have to deal with people problems, I ask myself: What would you do if they were a cute anime girl?


See you soon, 31 Aug 2021

YES MY SWEET, YES MY SWEETEST, I WANT TO GET BACK WHERE YOU ARE...

I've been taking a lot of photos. Some are actually good so they won't go up here. This website is reserved for the terrible experimental stuff.


Procrastinating, 28 Aug 2021

Time to start overhauling the photography section.


Under construction, 24 Aug 2021

I'm tempted to buy a Raspberry Pi and camera module and try to build a digital camera. But I won't be dumb and impulsive. I'm an adult.


Cheers, 22 Aug 2021

I'm not in my 30s, I'm an Epic level 10 year-old.


Off on adventures, 21 Aug 2021

Work is picking up again so less time for drawing.


Regrettably, 21 Aug 2021

Got my vaccine sorted out. Now with 2 doses.


One step closer to safety, 15 Aug 2021

I'm surprised that I actually liked the last Evangelion movie.


That's all I have to report, 15 Aug 2021

Missed a vaccine appointment because I mistook the 13th for the 15th. Dyslexia will be the end of me.


Still surviving, 15 Aug 2021

MOSURA YA MOSURA
DONGAN KASAKUYAN INDO MUU..

I regularly quote Char Aznable, but my friends never get the reference. I hope it makes me look cool and mysterious.


Blame this on the misfortune of your birth, 8 Aug 2021

くそは、
はかないものだ。


8 Aug 2021

I want to build an old school web page that uses table instead div. But I have no ideas on what to put on it.


Signing off, 5 Aug 2021

ECCM ON. NUMBER 2 GOING. 3.2.1. FIRE!

Am I the only the one that remembers Bert's Dinosaurs?


Cheers, 4 Aug 2021

I haven't eaten a naan for more than a year.


Regretfully, 29 July 2021

It's interesting how little I post in this format when there is no incentive for likes and retweets.


With thanks, 28 July 2021

WHY AM I SOFT IN THE MIDDLE NOW? WHY AM I SOFT IN THE MIDDLE THE REST OF MY LIFE IS SO HARD.

This entire website is written with the assumption that nobody actually bothers to read it.


In good health, 16 July 2021

Calliphora little


See you soon, 15.vii.2021

WHEN THE WORLD IS NO MORE, THE MOON IS ALL WE'LL SEE, I'LL ASK YOU TO FLY AWAY WITH ME

I just learned how to use the sections tag. Very useful for cleaning up website layouts.


Cheers, 14 July 2021

Calliphora


Best, 12.vii.2021

Delia


12.vii.2021

Lucida


12.vii.2021

It seems like drawing is the only way I can cope with pandemic stress.


With regards, 12 July 2021

I'm drawing quite a lot, but nothing is really worth uploading. This probably makes me look like a better artist than I actually am.


Respectfully yours, 8 July 2021

‘IT IS NO MEASURE OF HEALTH TO BE WELL ADJUSTED TO A PROFOUNDLY SICK SOCIETY.’ —JIDDU KRISHNAMURTI

"The Artist is not a painter of trees, but of their broader and more general features; he cannot therefore pretend to depict them precisely and minutely, because he cannot see them either on the masses of Light or of Shade." -J.D.Harding

Writing section upgrade completed.


Construction complete, 29 June 2021

Sorting through my writing and reorganising the writing page behind the scenes.


Constructing, 27 June 2021

AND I WILL CONTINUE RUNNING

Why do I feel like real life ended in 2020 and now I'm just in some strange warped version of the world.


Catch up later, 25 June 2021

The gallery section back up again!


Construction complete, 24 June 2021

Bio Mecha


A small preview, 23.6.2021

The gallery section is finally getting an overhaul. Putting on my curator hat and changing up the format.


Working behind the scenes, 23 June 2021

Digital gardens sure are a rabbit hole to explore. I wonder how I can implement it on this site.


Warm regards, 23 June 2021

A good thing about online meetings is I can turn my camera off and do my inking.


Your correspondence, 22 June 2021

Just changed the background for this page. The illustration took me a week, most of it was just waiting. The final inks were just a couple of hours.


Back to our regular schedule, 22 June 2021

Human history makes perfect logical sense if you assume that all humans are insane.


Keep in touch, 18 June 2021

DON'T STOP
CARRY ON
諦めない!

Qanon and Antivaxx are Chuunibyou for boomers.


See you later, 14 June 2021

THE LEGENDARY GARGANTUAN'S POWER WILL RIP APART THE WORLD

Been looking into redesigning the gallery section. Too many images and it's started to load a bit slow, so I need to reorganise the whole thing.


Your correspondence, 14 June 2021

Wrestling with @font-face isn't fun at all.


See you later, 13 June 2021

Cobras have really big innocent eyes. They're quite shy animals as well. They even open their hood to warn you. Such nice polite creatures.


Goodbye, 11 June 2021

Getting vaccinated was surpisingly fast and hassle free. With Covid powerless against me, I am now unstoppable.


From the front, 11.vi.2021

I THOUGHT I REACHED THE END, THE END OF A LONG LONG JOURNEY...

I've made it a rule to use only web safe fonts for this website. They don't look too bad if you use them sparingly.


At your service, 11.vi.2021

After all these years, I'm finally beginning to appreciate Helvetica.


With regards, 11.vi.2021

WHERE ARE YOU GOING WHEN ARE YOU COMING HOME?

Calliphora (little)


Signing off, 10.vi.2021

I'm not a half-empty or a half-full person. I'm just happy that I have a glass.


Don't drown out there, 10.vi.2021

Centipede stings are surprisingly mild. Less painful than a bee, wasp or even an army ant.


In good health, 9.vi.2021

Sublime suffering or cheap happiness? -Yes please.


Be well, 9.vi.2021

A WIND BLOWING AT 40 METERS PER SECOND

I'd like to think of this as some sort of alternate reality microblog, where things happened differently and twitter wasn't a thing.


Best wishes, 9.vi.2021

I think I'd prefer hell over heaven. Hell is full of suffering, and that means that it's far closer to the experience of living than heaven.


With regards, 9.vi.2021

Calliphora


Farewell, 9.vi.2021

THE RANDOM EMPTY SPACES ARE PART OF THE DESIGN

Toilet thoughts


Take care, 9.vi.2021

Between kufr and iman,
and half remembered 
rubaiyat 
by long lost
Persian poets.
I will meet you there

Until we meet next time, 10.vi.2021

"THINGS THAT ARE COMPLEX ARE NOT USEFUL. THINGS THAT ARE USEFUL ARE SIMPLE"
—MIKHAEL KALASNIKOV

Hello there


Respectfully, 9.vi.2021

Centering these lines was a nightmare.


Ninth of June MMXXI

"MAIN TRANS ENGINE:
No. 1 2 ON.
No. 3 4 OFF.
No. 5 6 7 8 ON."
"CONFIRMED
ROUND VERNIAN"